If you’re selling on Amazon and wish you were doing more sales, chances are you might need to improve one of these core metrics. Now, let’s look at these metrics in diagnosing a struggling Amazon listing so you can have an action plan on how to improve your sales.
An impression is when your product shows up in customer search results.
For instance, a customer searches for a yoga mat and your product which happens to be a yoga mat shows up in those search results.
Now, whether the customer’s eyeball actually connects with your listing or not on that page is irrelevant. The fact that it’s loaded on that page counts it as an impression and you’ll see this in your PPC reports, where you’ll know how many times your ad has loaded on a page. Increased impressions come from increased visibility via keywords. The keywords are what you put into Amazon to show for search terms that customers actually use. Going back to the yoga mat example, let’s say your customer searches for the “best yoga mat of 2020” and your listing shows up because of the keyword you've put in “yoga mat” but using the search term that the customer used, which is unique to the customer.
So it goes without saying, to increase your impressions, you need to get as many relevant and high traffic keywords into your listing as possible. This is where Optamaze recommends using a tool like Helium 10 to do your keyword research with the tool, Magnet, to get as many keywords as you can. Using this tool, you can do a thorough keyword research process to make sure you're using as many highly relevant and high demand keywords in your listing as you possibly can.
There’s no organic way you can measure impressions. You can measure your PPC impressions from within your ad campaign reports and look at the metric there. But, when it comes to organic impressions, what you're actually looking for is keyword ranking. The best way to know whether you're improving with your impressions or not is to know whether you're improving with your keyword ranking through the use of Helium 10. If your keyword ranking is trending upwards, then you know that you're getting more impressions. The very fact that you might be ranked number one for a keyword means that every time that keyword is searched, your listing appears in position one which means it's getting a lot of visibility. Visibility is linked to the number of times that search term is searched in a month so you can broaden your strategy to include as many keywords at varying levels of demand as you possibly can. Include as many of those as you can and then watch and see how your keyword ranking grows so that your impressions can grow.
Once you've got the impression, you have to attract the click. If you don't attract the click, then you can't attract the sale. So, what attracts a click once your listing has shown up on the search results in the midst of a whole bunch of other search results? What attracts the click in the context of your competition?
This isn't necessarily in order of priority or an order people look at. Different people look for different things but these are just a general list of the things that do affect this metric:
Does the main image instantly stop the customer from scrolling on mobile? Does it cause them to stop and take a look at your listing? What people are looking at is going to be your main image. Does it pop? Does it make them stop and think?
Your title is going to be what's going to affect your clicks also. On mobile, you can have up to 80 characters that appear on your listing title so make sure those first 80 characters are highly optimized, that they're not spammy. Don't keyword stuff especially in those first 80 keywords. Make sure it is a compelling, clear and relevant title that's going to attract.
The third thing is your price, which is also in relation to the competition around you. You may think that you're selling at a good price and that it is quite a steal because you’re paying the supplier this much and you are able to charge this much. But no, it is about the context of your competition. It’s not necessarily about charging the lowest amount but is your product worth the price? You should be charging based on the value you're creating with your image, your title, and your complete offer.
Then, of course it's the reviews that show up. This is a major factor on whether someone is going to click on your listing. If you've got a hundred reviews but they're only three-star and someone’s got 20 reviews that are five-stars, it is a lot more likely that they get the click than you do. So, you need to look at the count and also the rating.
Then finally, it's vouchers or in the US, these are called coupons. These are the little colored stickers that show up that say 10% off, 2 pounds off, or 5 dollars off. You can create those from your seller central account. These do improve your click-through rate so we would encourage you to always consider including a voucher or coupon on your listing and then just raising your price a little bit to cover the amount of the virtual coupon.
These are the five things that are going to attract the click because they're the only things that are visible on the search results. That's all the customer sees at the moment on Amazon and there's no way to flick through the other images on the main page. There's no way to hover over to see more information about the product. As it stands, these are the five things that are going to impact the amount of clicks you're going to get. So, if you're getting some good keyword ranking, but you're not getting any clicks, you're not getting many sessions on your products. You can find this out by going to reports and then business reports and then to the individual SKU reports in Amazon. From there, you’ll be able to see how many sessions you’ve had and if that number is lower than what you’re expecting.
Then finally, the third metric you need to look at is conversion. Now, your conversion is a sale when someone actually visits your listing and buys your products. Without conversions, you don't have a business. We are in a money-making business so conversions are absolutely crucial. You can't get a conversion if you haven't had the impression and then the click, so those two are also crucial.
These work together like a Trinity that needs to go hand in hand and work together. You can't have one without the other. You need all three but if you have the other two and don’t have conversions then you're just wasting your time. You need to have conversions and so when someone clicks into that listing, the two things that are really going to impact that or influence conversion is going to be your messaging and social proof.
What is Messaging?
When they see your listing, they're going to think, “Do I want this?” or “Do I need this?”, “Is there something compelling about this that makes me want to buy this product over the other options that are out there in the market?”
Now, you're going to create your messaging with your images, your copy, and A+ content. It is really important to work on all these to make sure it is as good as it possibly can be, not just high quality and not just containing the right keywords but having a clear messaging framework - what is the messaging you’re trying to create towards your potential customers.
What is Social Proof?
It’s not only “Do I want or need this?” but actually, “Do others recommend this?” or “Are other people recommending this?”. Now, that comes from your reviews, questions and answers. So, what you need to do in order to grow that social proof is to attract reviews and more questions. More importantly, answer them in a good way when they come in.
So those are the three metrics - your impressions, your clicks and your conversions. Again, you can track your conversion rate metric by going into that same report going to business reports and then on the detail page sales report. There, you’ll see a metric called unit session percentage - that is the number of times a unique person comes to your listing or how much of a percentage of those visits by unique customers actually turned into paying customers.
Once you know those numbers, you now have an idea of where you're currently at and that's the time you set out, improve a struggling listing and sort of begin to diagnose the issue by asking yourself these questions:
“Am I getting enough people to see my listing?”
If not, then work on the areas mentioned for impressions.
“Am I getting enough clicks on my listing?”
If not, work on the five priorities in clicks to increase that click-through rate.
“Am I getting the conversions?” or “Is my conversion rate at least 10% or more?”
If it's not, then look at your messaging and social proof - “Is it clear enough?”, “Is it high quality enough?” and “Does it appeal to potential customers?”
Let's look at a quick example to show you the power of these metrics.
Let's say you've got a product that at the moment is getting 100,000 impressions per month. That might sound like a lot but it's actually not really a great deal. It's not crazy high demand but it's also not very low demand for a product. If you're selling an average product that's doing between a hundred and two hundred sales a month, you should be getting around this number of impressions. There is no way to actually know this for sure. The organic impressions are very hard to tell unless you literally go through every keyword you're ranked for, and add up the number of times that search per month.
So, let's use the above as an example. If you can improve that and get a 10% increase on your impressions, that's going to lead to some growth. But, if you can also compound that with an increase in your click-through rate, you're getting more clicks because not only have you worked on your keywords to get more impressions but have also worked on your main image, reviews, title, pricing and your vouchers to get some more clicks.
Then, your click-through rate improves to 2.2%. That means you're going to go from 2,000 clicks a month on your listing or 2,000 visits on your listing, that's going to increase to 2,420 clicks by just that small 10% change on each of those two metrics.
Now, if you combine that with a metric of conversion rate, the metric will increase if you are initially converting 10% of each click that comes into your listing and turn it into a sale. So, for every ten people, one of them became a purchaser. If you improve that conversion rate by just 10%, you get 1%. By adding this up, you get 11%. It's a very small change and you could do way more than this if you really set your mind to it.
You could do more than this but I want to show you the power of incremental improvements in these three core metrics. There is a difference of 66 more conversions in a month if you just work on each of those three core metrics and improve them by 10%. If you're selling something that's worth £20 a unit, that's an extra £1,320 every single month. That's over £15,000 per year per product with small metric movements.
Imagine doubling those improvements. That's an extra £30,000 per year per product. Imagine replicating that across three or four different products, you can begin to see how these changes alone can make a six-figure difference in your business if you apply them correctly.